Jugs, Cottage Cheese and Sexy!

Czech fruit dumplings covered by cottage cheese.

Cottage Cheese

In a study conducted by the University of Colorado at Boulder, 40% of women and 10% of men would trade 3 to 5 years of their lives to achieve their weight goals.  The average girl started dieting at 14 years old in 1970.  By 1990, the starting age was 8.

After 5 children (twins through c-section), my body is a sight to behold in the light! I certainly wouldn’t qualify for centerfold in any magazine.  Okay, maybe I’d be in the running for an AARP publication.

I struggle occasionally with how attractive I may really look to my husband.  And diet isn’t in my vocabulary.  My husband tells me how much he loves certain things about my body.  I grin and nod, sometimes I relent with a disingenuous ‘thank you.’  I know in my heart he loves me and desires me.  However, I, too, can be a little self-conscious about how I look.

I know my perceptions of what I should look like are strongly influenced by nothing more substantial than a lifetime of images that project a wrong sense of normalcy and I, as many of you, have often hungered for the appearance of youth.  But a lifetime of perky breasts and washboard abs ARE NOT NORMAL!  Sorry for raising my voice.  I’m talking to myself, mostly.

In the same university study, 44% chose an ideal body type that is 10% underweight.  The average U.S. woman is 5’4″ and weighs 140 pounds whereas the average U.S. model is 5’11″ and weighs 117 pounds.

I am sure that my husband sees me differently than a stranger off the street would. He’s invested a lot in me and I in him.  I am the mother of his children.  I know his fears and I share his dreams.  I know him in ways his own mother doesn’t.  He knows me likewise!  I think he sees me through eyes of love and affection.  He is turned on by ME…and I am not just my body to him.  I am attitude, outlook, faith and history.  I am the womb that bore his children.  The shoulders that bore his crying.  The heart that holds his love. He loves all of ME.  I must love all of ME and the standard for ME should be health and well-being on all levels.

I would like to believe your husbands see you similarly…sagging jugs, cottage cheese thighs and all!  I hope that health and overall well-being is your priority too.  Exercise, healthy eating and good lifestyle habits are important.  These positive behaviors do give our self-core evaluations (self-perceptions) a lifet.  As I grow older, I do grow more comfortable with who I am, if not absolutely then mostly.  I know that I am putting the best “me” forward.

I have to look in the mirror and see all that my husband and God see.  Even with my saggy jugs and cottage cheeses thighs, I am beautiful in their eyes.  Yeah for me!

Married? Visit us at ThePureBed.com, your married couples intimacy store! Like us on Facebook.  Follow us on Twitter.

About ThePureBed
Welcome and thanks for giving us a once over! Our blog celebrates and honors sexual intimacy in the context of marriage.

3 Responses to Jugs, Cottage Cheese and Sexy!

  1. Louise says:

    Wow.. reading this made me feel so much better, that im not the only women in the world that has had insecurities about their own body, but how to recognize the outer beauty of it. Despite all of the flaws, to our mates we are a rare treasure and we should treasure and love our bodies the same way. Thank You for sharing your story..

  2. thepurebed says:

    Thank you for reading and commenting on it!

  3. J says:

    Goooooood stuff.

Leave a Reply

