Married Sex Jeopardy: Quid Pro Quo

Trade-offs (I’ll do this if you’ll do that) may seem equal and fair, but in reality, each partner instinctively may rule out anything that makes him or her uptight. 

We are left with a limited intimate repertoire that guarantees sexual boredom, not to mention scorekeeping and resentment when one partner is less enthusiastic than the other about a particular foreplay or sex act.

Isn’t  it better to take the initiative and challenge yourselves to just try something new?  In so doing, isn’t the reward discovering new things about yourself and your spouse?

Tell me how I’m wrong about it.  Or…how I’m right about it.

It appears that quid pro quo approaches to sex are detrimental.  They seem like cold commercial transactions that exclude a sacrificial approach to intimacy that allows me to give myself to my lover without holding back for compensation. 

Isn’t there a fundamental danger in thinking ‘I’ll do you if you do me‘?  Isn’t this antithetical to the essence of what it means to be intimate…unguardedly close?

Just asking…

About ThePureBed
Welcome and thanks for giving us a once over! Our blog celebrates and honors sexual intimacy in the context of marriage.

Leave a Reply

