Love Out Loud!

How does it feel when a friend, coworker or even unfamiliar person compliments you on your clothes or a physical feature…tastefully?  Do you feel good, desirable, appreciated…noticed?  Are you getting that kind of affirmation?

Are you giving it?

Much of what is natural behavior early in our marriage becomes adaptive behavior later.  With fresh eyes, rampaging hormones and a sense of novelty, we easily observe the positives in any new relationship.  Moreover, the negatives are often easily (perhaps, too easily) dismissed, overlooked or seen as merely quirky or cute.  The converse becomes true 5 to 10 years later when the points of attraction that drew you to your spouse fade into obscurity and the noted parts of their character are those formerly cute and quirky attributed…now grating our nerves and testing the boundaries of our patience.

So let’s take the power of our words and recapture the practice of affirming one another by communicating affection and appreciation.  Make a list of things you can say to your spouse each day that will convey that you see their value and that you value what you see!  A kind word turns away wrath.

I’ll start you off with some gender neutral ideas.  You add to the list and tailor it to suit your husband or wife.  Commit to communicating at least one phrase a day to your spouse for the next 30 days.  Habits are born of repetition.

1. Your smile makes me smile.
2. Thank you for marrying me.
3. Did you know that just hearing your name makes me happy?
4. Raising children with you is a privilege.
5. I married an awesome person
6. Our love is one of the great miracles of my life.
7. Thank you for being you.
8. There are two high points to each of my days.  Waking up to you and going to bed with you.
9. I want you to know that you love me well.
10. I love you so very much.

More than complimenting one another, our words convey, expose…embolden our love.  Our verbalizing genuine sentiments is a powerful experience for both the giver and receiver.  Let us love out loud.

About ThePureBed
Welcome and thanks for giving us a once over! Our blog celebrates and honors sexual intimacy in the context of marriage.

3 Responses to Love Out Loud!

  1. eralhundeld says:

    Great site this thepurebed.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  2. thepurebed says:

    Thank you and welcome!

  3. fekfrurn says:

    rated site this thepurebed.wordpress.com formidable to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

